Nagle wins 44th Judicial Circuit seat

Published 9:45 pm Tuesday, November 7, 2023


Keith Nagle edged Danny Smith in a three-candidate race for the 44th Judicial Circuit Court Judge seat. Nagle finished with 2,283 votes, barely beating Smith, who had 2,120 votes. Commonwealth Attorney Lisa Fugate was a distant third with 1,127 votes.

In state elections, there was a Republican sweep of the down-ticket races in the results of the Kentucky Constitutional offices, while Democrats were able to hold onto a vacant House seat in Fayette County during Tuesday’s general election.

Email newsletter signup

Michael Adams easily won reelection to a second term as Secretary of State. His Democratic opponent, Charles “Buddy” Wheatley, was a former state representative who was also a retired Covington Fire Chief.

One-time U.S. Attorney for the Western District of Kentucky, Russell Coleman, also cruised to victory in the Attorney General’s race, where he will succeed Daniel Cameron, who gave up the seat to run for governor.  It was an all-Jefferson County race, as his opponent, Pamela Stevenson is a House member from Louisville.

In the race for Auditor of Public Accounts, Allison Ball, who is wrapping up her second term as State Treasurer, defeated Kimberley Reeder, a Rowan County native who is a tax attorney now living in Frankfort. Ball succeeds Mike Harmon who was term-limited and lost in the May gubernatorial primary to Cameron.

Mark Metcalf, currently the Garrard County Attorney, won the race to succeed Ball as State Treasurer.  He defeated Michael Bowman of Louisville, who also lost the 2019 treasurer’s race to Ball, and who has a banking and financial background.

Jonathan Shell, a former House Majority Leader, won the race for Commissioner of Agriculture, where he will succeed Ryan Quarles, who was term-limited and also lost to Cameron in the May gubernatorial primary.

The only other Democratic win, other than Gov. Andy Beshear, was a special election in the 93rd State House District, where Democrat Adrielle Camuel defeated Republican Kyle Whelan.

Bell County by the numbers:

Straight Party Votes – 2271

Republican – 1719

Democrat – 552


Governor and Lieutenant Governor 

Daniel Cameron (R) –  3386

Robert M “Bobby” Mills


Andy Beshear (D) – 2281

Jaqueline Coleman


Secretary of State

Michael Adams (R)  – 4096

Charles Bobby Wheatley (D) – 1236


Attorney General 

Russell Coleman (R)   – 4056

Pamela Stevenson (D) – 1300


Auditor of public accounts 

Alison Ball (R)   – 4110

Kimberly Kim Reeder (D) – 1209


State Treasurer 

Mark H Metcalf (R) –  3922

Michael Bowman (D) –  1388


County Surveyor (Unexpired term)

No candidates ran for the Unexpired Term of county surveyor 


Commissioner of Agriculture 

Johnathan Shell (R) – 4059

Sierra J Enlow (D) – 1223


Circut Judge 44th Judicial Circuit (unexpired term) (non partisan) 

Keith Nagle – 2283 

Danny Smith – 2120 

Lisa Lynn Fugate – 1127