LMU Athlete’s Hall of Fame to induct five new members this weekend

Published 9:17 am Tuesday, October 8, 2019

HARROGATE, Tenn. — Five new names will be added to the Lincoln Memorial University Athlete’s Hall of Fame this coming weekend as part of the homecoming 2019 festivities. This year’s inductees are Sofia Lopez Mimendi, Mark Cartwright, Desmond Johnson, Cody Pack and Mike Smith.

The Athlete’s Hall of Fame was founded in 1981 and has inducted 209 former student-athletes, coaches and support staff over the past 38 years.

The ceremony will begin at 10 a.m. on Saturday in Tex Turner Arena.

Email newsletter signup

Sofia Lopez Mimendi (Women’s Tennis and Cross Country)

Arguably the most decorated female athlete in LMU history, Sofia was a dominant force in both women’s tennis and cross country during her LMU career. In tennis, she compiled a 59-14 record in singles and 65-12 doubles record and helped lead her team to the 2010 South Atlantic Conference regular season and tournament titles. She was a four-time First Team All-SAC performer in singles from 2009-2012 and in doubles in 2012. Her 59 singles wins rank her second all-time and her 65 doubles wins top the career leaderboard.

As a harrier, she was named to the SAC All-Freshman Team in 2008 and First Team All-SAC in 2009 and 2011. After missing the 2010 season due to injury, she came back in 2011 and finished in the top 20 in every event, including four top-10 and three top-five finishes. She also earned USTFCCA and NCAA All-Region honors.

During her career, she was named SAC Women’s Tennis Player of the Week and SAC Runner of the week on multiple occasions and earned CoSIDA Academic All-District honors. In 2012, she was named a Top 30 finalist for NCAA Woman of the Year and is the only LMU student-athlete to date to earn that honor.

Mark Cartwright (Men’s Basketball)

Mark was a member of the LMU men’s basketball team during the mid-1970s and was a key component of the success of the 1975-76 and 1976-77 teams. During those two years, the program won the Volunteer State Athletic Conference East Division, the VSAC Tournament, and the NAIA District 24 championship each season, advancing to the NAIA National Tournament in Kansas City, Mo. The 1975-76 advanced as far as the national semifinals while the 1976-77 squad fell in the first round.

During those two seasons he scored 1,108 points, pulled down 309 rebounds and tallied 233 assists and 141 steals. He still ranks in the top 10 in program history in steals average (third), scoring average (fourth), field goal percentage (sixth), assists average (sixth) and made field goals (10th).

Desmond Johnson (Men’s Basketball)

Desmond was a key component of the genesis of the current successful run of the Railsplitter men’s basketball team. One of the first signees by new head coach Josh Schertz, he was one of the top players in the SAC during his career. His laurels include: SAC Freshman of the Year (2008-09), SAC All-Freshman Team (2008-09), NCAA Division II Freshman All-America Team (2008-09), All SAC First Team (2010-11, 2011-12), SAC Player of the Year (2010-11) and the Division II Bulletin All-America Third Team (2010-11).

He scored 1,433 points in 119 games, while pulling down 828 rebounds, dishing out 138 assists, and blocking 69 shots. He currently ranks third all-time in made free throws (364) and free throw attempts (547), fourth in offensive rebounds (272), fifth in career rebounds (828), fifth in defensive rebounds (556), seventh in field goals made (528) and eighth in field goal percentage (.576).

Cody Pack (Baseball)

Cody was a standout player on the LMU diamond from 2008-11, where he had a career .319 batting average with 39 doubles, seven triples, 31 home runs and 163 runs batted in. He was also 15-of-18 in stolen bases during that span.

The center fielder still is tied for first in home runs in a game with three and ranks second in career home runs and RBIs, fifth in walks, sixth in runs scored and total bases, seventh in doubles and eighth in slugging percentage and triples.

He was named All-SAC Second Team in 2010, and All-SAC First Team and the SAC All-Defensive team in 2011. Cody also earned CoSIDA Academic All-Region honors in 2010 and 2011.

Mike Smith (Women’s Volleyball Coach and Administration)

Mike coached the women’s volleyball team from 1994 to 2010, where he compiled a 351-216 record. During his tenure, he coached the team to three Gulf South Conference Tournament and four SAC Tournament appearances. His teams in 2008, 2009 and 2010 reached the NCAA Tournament and won the SAC’s first-ever victory in the NCAA Tournament when they defeated Carson-Newman 3-1 in 2008.

He transitioned from coaching to compliance in 2011 and is currently the school’s Associate Athletic Director for Compliance. He has also served stints on the softball and men’s volleyball staffs during his time at LMU.

Mike is a 1992 graduate of LMU and played baseball during his undergraduate career.