Union men’s soccer tabbed to finish 5th in AAC

Published 1:16 pm Monday, August 12, 2019

BARBOURVILLE — The Union College men’s soccer team is projected to finish fifth in the chase for the 2019 Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) men’s soccer championship, according to the coaches’ poll.

The conference released the poll on Wednesday.

Union finished 8-8-2 overall and 5-5 in league play to land fifth in the standings.

Email newsletter signup

Receiving four of 11 first-place votes, Reinhardt University (Ga.) collected 114 total voting points, making the Eagles the favorite to capture the 2019 AAC championship. Point University (Ga.) and Tennessee Wesleyan University tied for second with each picking up 103 voting points. Point picked up five first-place votes, while Tennessee Wesleyan got one. The Skyhawks won the 2018 regular-season championship with Reinhardt taking the tournament crown.

Bryan College (Tenn.) is fourth with 99 voting points with Union following in fifth at 82 points.

Edwin Garcia is the top returning scoring for the Bulldogs as he collected five goals, two assists, and 12 points last season. Duarte Rebelo is the only other returner with multiple assists, dishing out two to go along with a goal in 2018. Meanwhile, Abdoul Diaw deposited two goals for Union last season.

The 2019 AAC Tournament is set to begin with the opening round on Nov. 2 with only the top eight teams advancing to the tournament. The semifinal round is set for Nov. 9 and championship round is slated for Nov. 16. All matches will be played at the highest remaining seed’s home site.

Union opens up its 2019 season hosting Midway University (Ky.) on Aug. 24 in Barbourville, Ky. The Bulldogs open AAC play against Reinhardt on Sept. 15. To view the full schedule, click here.

2019 AAC Preseason Poll

Team – Voting Points (First-Place Votes)

1. Reinhardt – 114 (4)

T2. Point – 103 (5)

T2. Tennessee Wesleyan – 103 (1)

4. Bryan – 99

5. Union – 82

6. Columbia International – 63

7. Montreat – 57

8. Milligan – 54

9. Truett McConnell – 47

10. Bluefield – 33

11. St. Andrews – 25

12. Kentucky Christian – 10