30 students graduate from 2019 Rogers Explorers program

Published 10:27 am Tuesday, August 6, 2019

Thirty students from Southern and Eastern Kentucky graduated from the fifth class of The Center for Rural Development’s 2019 Rogers Explorers program held June 26-28 on the campus of the University of Pikeville.

Rogers Explorers is open to eighth-grade middle school students within The Center’s 45-county primary service area who have a strong interest in developing their skills in leadership, team building, community service, and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) fields of study.

The Center selected a total of 211 students from throughout the region to attend this year’s Rogers Explorers program. Participants spend three days and two nights on a leading Kentucky college campus where experts guide them through hands-on assignments to help build their leadership skills and explore different career pathways.

Email newsletter signup

“For most of these students, this is the first time they will experience life on a college campus setting and to seriously begin thinking about different career choices before they enter their freshman year in high school,” said Lonnie Lawson, President and CEO of The Center. “We want to give students the knowledge and tools they need to discover their career pathways and to plan for the future. Congratulations to all of our Rogers Explorers graduates.”

The following students graduated from the Rogers Explorers program at the University of Pikeville: Adair County Middle School—Jonathan Gold; Ashland Middle School—Abby Meek; Bell Central School Center—Austin Robbins; Boyd County Middle School—Sydney Kinnel; Casey County Middle School—Benton Hayes; Duff-Allen Central Elementary—Hailey Little, Fleming Neon Middle School—Cruiser Fleming; Hazard Middle School—Ezrie Justice; Herald Whitaker Middle School—Presley Smith; Hindman Elementary School—Garrett Ritchie; Johnson County Middle School—Ben Moore; Johns Creek School—Katie Abshire; Louisa Middle School—Kassie Burke and Trey Hall; Lee County Middle School—Autumn Fox; Meece Middle School—Aiden Corder, Josh Gross, and Max Yeast; Menifee Elementary—Eli Johnson; Metcalfe County Middle School—Lindsey Bandy; Morgan County Middle School—Kaci Montgomery; Northern Middle School—Allie Sexton; Owsley County High School—Christian Bowling and Marley Caudill; Pikeville High School—Devin Derossett; Rosspoint Elementary School—Caleb Rose; Science Hill Independent—Samuel Dalton; South Floyd Elementary School—Jayla Little; West Carter Middle School—Thomas Eklund; and West Perry Elementary School—Landon Maggard.

The Rogers Explorers program is presented by The Center in partnership with the University of Pikeville, University of the Cumberlands, Asbury University, Lindsey Wilson College, Eastern Kentucky University, Morehead State University, and Union College. The program is provided tuition-free to applicants who meet the eligibility requirements.

For more information about Rogers Explorers, call 606-677-6000 or email Allison Cross at across@centertech.com. Visit centeryouthprograms.com to learn more about the program.