LMU tennis teams named ita all-academic teams

Published 1:45 pm Monday, July 22, 2019

TEMPE, Ariz. — For the second consecutive year, the Lincoln Memorial women’s and men’s tennis teams have both earned ITA All-Academic Team accolades. In addition, the entire eleven-woman roster of the women’s team and three men’s players have been named ITA All-Academic Scholar Athletes.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that compiled a cumulative grade-point average of 3.20 or above. In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete plaudits, a player had to be a varsity letter winner, post a 3.50 GPA or better and be enrolled at their present institution for at least two semesters.

The women’s team had all of their players named All-Academic Scholar Athletes for the second straight year as Amanda Dahlstrom, Johanna Delisse, Samantha Hogan, Julia Loos, Marta Pinol, Claudia Rodriguez, Laurel Tipps, Julia Valls, Anne Van Der Horst, Kristin Vogel, and Kiersten Waugh all had GPA’s of 3.52 or higher.

Email newsletter signup

The team led the LMU athletic department for the year with a 3.83 GPA, while the men’s team posted a 3.38 GPA.

The men’s team also earned All-Academic Team status, while Sebastian Colla, Moritz Hoerner, and David Segarra earned Scholar Athlete honors.

The awards are the last for the teams under former head coach Benny Collins, who retired in May. During his tenure the teams were named All-Academic Team several times, with a majority of his players also earning Scholar Athlete honors.