Bevin, Beshear earn nod in state governor race

Published 10:09 am Thursday, May 23, 2019

The table for November’s election was set on Tuesday. In one of the most anticipated races in Kentucky, Democrat Andy Beshear — son of former governor Steve Beshear — will take on incumbent Matt Bevin for the governor seat. Beshear edged out Rocky Adkins, Adam Edelen and Geoffrey Young in the primary. Bevin defeated Robert Goforth, William Woods and Ike Lawrence to earn the Republican nomination.

In the race for attorney general, Daniel Cameron defeated Wil Schroder after earning 55.3 percent of the vote to claim the Republican nomination. He will battle Greg Stumbo, who was unopposed.

In the secretary of state race, Democrat Heather French Henry, who won in a landslide after claiming 71 percent of the vote, will take on Republican Michael Adams. Democrat Sheri Donahue will battle incumbent Mike Harmon (who was unopposed) for the state auditor seat, and Democrat Michael Bowman and incumbent Allison Ball (who was unopposed) will duel for the state treasurer seat.

Email newsletter signup

Incumbent Ryan Quarles will take on Democrat Robert Haley Conway for the agriculture commissioner seat.

While all these races were determined on a statewide level, voters in Bell County showed up to have their voices heard. It was a low turnout as roughly 8.1 percent of registered voters came out on Tuesday to vote.

Those who did turnout to vote decided that Goforth, who received 972 votes, was a better option for governor than Bevin. On the Democratic side of the governor race, Bell Countians agreed with the state in giving Beshear the majority vote (414) compared to Adkins’ 366 votes.

Below are the complete election results out of Bell County:



Matt Bevin (Incumbent) – 600

Robert Goforth – 972

Ike Lawrence – 29

William Woods – 59


Rocky Adkins – 366

Andy Beshear – 414

Adam Edelen – 127

Geoffrey Young – 20


Secretary of State


Michael G. Adams – 709

Andrew English – 327

Stephen L. Knipper – 229

Carl Nett – 126


Jason S. Belcher – 179

Jason Griffith – 164

Heather French Henry – 446

Geoff Sebesta – 20


Commissioner of Agriculture


Bill Polyniak – 335

Ryan F. Quarles (Incumbent) – 1130


Robert Haley Conway – 559

Joe Trigg – 203


Attorney General


Daniel Cameron – 830

Wil Schroder – 651


Auditor of Public Accounts


Kelsey Hayes Coots – 271

Drew Curtis – 129

Sheri Donahue – 245

Chris Tobe – 102


State Treasurer


Michael Bowman – 534

Josh Mers – 203