Middlesboro School Board members sworn in

Published 3:17 pm Tuesday, January 22, 2019

Three new members of the Middlesboro Independent School Board have been sworn in to begin their service.

The newly elected members are Bill Johnson, David Mike and Joyce Hoskins.

During the board’s recent January meeting, Charla Costanzo was elected as chairperson and Teresa Brown was elected in as vice chairperson.

Email newsletter signup

Superintendent Waylon Allen recognized the board members for their service.

“Our board members bear the tremendous responsibility of ensuring the long-term success of our school system and of our community’s children,” Allen said.

Other items on the agenda included the board adopting a schedule of regular meetings on the third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m.

Superintendent Allen and Mayor Rick Nelson also met to discuss the needs of the city and the school. In order to continue to provide student safety, the superintendent recommended to the board that the Middlesboro Independent School District assist the city with the salary of the school resource officer for the remainder of the 2018-19 school year.

The Middlesboro Middle School and Middlesboro High School cheerleaders performed for the board and those in attendance. The teams will be competing in the UCA National High School Cheerleading Championship in February.

Board members also reviewed a draft budget for the 2019-2020 school year.

The next board meeting will be Feb. 19 at the Central Office Building.