The voters speak

Published 10:09 am Tuesday, May 22, 2018

The May Primary has officially come and gone.

After polls closed Tuesday, votes were counted and winners were announced. Some politicians were honored by their victory and others will have to go back to the drawing board for the next election cycle.

The polls closed at 6 p.m. and with that the race to tally all of the votes began.

Email newsletter signup

Several elections were held countywide including magistrates, constables, sheriff, county jailer and state representatives. The most prominent for Bell County and the city of Middlesboro were the Bell County Judge Executive race and the seat for the Mayor of Middlesboro.

There were four candidates vying for the office of both judge executive and the nonpartisan Middlesboro Mayor seat.

For judge executive, Albey Brock, Bruce Hendrickson, Jerry Watkins, and Jesse Taylor were all in the running. Bill Kelley, Clarence “Bo” Green, Lucas Carter and Rick Nelson all contended for the mayoral spot in Middlesboro.

With only Republicans vying for a seat, the winner for judge executive was Brock receiving 56.74 percent of the vote. Hendrickson finished second with 27.97 percent of the vote.

With no Democrats running for judge executive on the November ticket, Brock will be unopposed.

The two mayoral candidates for Middlesboro who will be facing off in November for the general election are Nelson with 49.97 percent of the vote and Green with 20.28 percent.

Current Bell County Sheriff Mitch Williams with face Carl Frith in November. Frith garnered 56.99 percent of the Democratic votes with opponent David Cornelius receiving only 43 percent. Tommy Fuson will also be on the November ticket for sheriff as an Independent.

For Bell County Jailer, incumbent Gary Ferguson, with 45.07 percent of the Republican vote, will be against candidate Larry McCullough — who garnered 53.49 percent of the Democratic vote.

Jay Steele won the ballot for Bell County Coroner against Clyde Creech with 58.27 percent of the vote and will run unopposed in November.

For the Republican magistrate ballot — District 1 saw Eddie Saylor pull ahead against his opponents with 32.11 percent of the vote. Magistrate District 2 saw David “Bo” Bush take the lead with 29.12 percent.

Magistrate District 3 saw Lonnie “Junior” Maiden win against the only other candidate on the ballot, Donnie Sparks, with 60.29 percent of the vote.

For Magistrate District 5, Terry Bailey won out with 34.78 percent of the vote.

On the Democratic ballot for the magistrate districts — Jess Brock Jr. won against Andy J. Wilder with 60.34 percent of the vote in District 1. Brock Jr. will square off against Saylor in November.

Freddie Hunter won the Democratic nomination for magistrate in District 2 after receiving 32.84 percent of the votes. He will square off against Bush in November.

For the District 1 constable, Glenn Hobbs won against Creed Barnett Jr. with a landslide 66.41 percent. He will run unopposed in November.

District 2 saw another landslide with Keith Allen Cox beating out Elmer Sizemore with 70.61 percent of the vote. He will square off against Ricky Lee Washington Sr. — who defeated Larry Fish Mills on the Democratic ticket after receiving 52.85 percent of the vote — in November.

Rick Dunn defeated Matt Durham with 61.53 percent of the vote to earn the 5th District constable seat. David Scott Hendrickson defeated Ancel Patterson for the 3rd District Constable seat.

Results released above are unofficial