Railsplitters earn No. 7 seed for Southeast Regional

Published 4:00 pm Monday, May 14, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — The Railsplitters were awarded the No. 7 seed for the Southeast Regional and will open NCAA tournament play against two-seeded and No. 6 nationally-ranked Georgia College on Thursday in Tigerville, South Carolina, it was announced on Sunday night.

The entire double-elimination tournament will be hosted by North Greenville, who earns a first-round bye due to the seven-team format. Lincoln Memorial vs. Georgia College will be one of three games played on Thursday along with No. 4 Columbus State vs. No. 5 UNC Pembroke and No. 3 Belmont Abbey vs. No. 6 Wingate.

The winner of the Southeast Regional will advance to the NCAA Division II Baseball Championship in Cary, North Carolina May 26-June 2.

Email newsletter signup

Lincoln Memorial (35-19) is set to make its third NCAA tournament appearance and second in as many years as the Railsplitters repeated as South Atlantic Conference tournament champions with a thrilling 11-inning win over Catawba on April 30. The Railsplitters head into the NCAA tournament with wins in 12 of their last 14 games.

Georgia College (43-10) also earned its way into the NCAA tournament by repeating as Peach Belt Conference tournament champions with a 7-5 triumph over No. 25 nationally-ranked USC Aiken on Sunday. The Bobcats have won eight consecutive games and 40 of 46 overall since starting the season 3-4.

Thursday will serve as the fourth all-time meeting and third NCAA tournament clash between Lincoln Memorial and Georgia College. The Bobcats eliminated the Railsplitters from the 2013 Southeast Regional with a 12-0 win, but LMU returned the favor with a 7-6 victory in 2017 to earn the first NCAA tournament win in program history.

The Railsplitters are 2-1 all-time against Georgia College with the only other meeting occurring in 2010.

The Southeast Regional is a loaded field that features five teams represented in the latest NCBWA poll, including No. 2 North Greenville, No. 6 Georgia College, No. 14 Columbus State, RV Belmont Abbey and RV UNC Pembroke.

Play begins on Thursday afternoon at Ray & Bea Dillard Field. More information regarding the Southeast Regional will be announced as it becomes available at www.lmurailsplitters.com.